Our hard-wired stress response is designed to give us the quick burst of heightened alertness and energy needed to perform our best. But stress isn’t all good. When activated too long or too often, stress can damage virtually every part of our body. As is noted life is always full of stressful situations, for teachers it is a well known fact but why not do something about it.

Being a HPE and Science teacher in training, I like to look closely at how things work or effect the body which is what this video does perfectly. This visual representation of the body suffering from stress is enough to make anyone spring into action and want to help deal with the problem. I mean how many teachers did we all know and see growing up who were bald….was it due to stress perhaps? All I know is that I want to keep my hair!

Below, Sharon Horesh Bergquist gives us a look at what goes on inside our body when we are chronically stressed.


